YouTube Facebook LinkedIn Google+ Twitter Xinginstagram rss  

2010 Best Practices Awards Winners

July 29, 2010 | Last April, we handed out the Bio•IT World 2010 Best Practices Awards at a lavish awards ceremony in Boston during the Bio-IT World Conference & Expo.

Last October groups were invited to submit outstanding and innovative best practices in industry and academia. We received a record 74 entries Next, we assembled a panel of 15 expert judges drawn from big pharma, academia, and consultants. Together, we debated the merits of every entry, assessing each case in terms of novelty, return on investment (recognizing that in some cases ROI has not yet been fully demonstrated), and the potential transference to other organizations.

In the following pages, you’ll find profiles of the six category winners and three other awards: the Editors’ Choice Award, the Judges’ Prize, and a Community Service Award.

We extend our thanks to everyone who entered, our 2010 Best Practices Dinner sponsors Tessella and GenomeQuest, and especially our judges for volunteering their time and expertise:

  • Al Doig, CHI Insight Pharma Reports
  • Alan Louie, IDC Health Insights
  • Bill Van Etten, The BioTeam
  • Craig Lipset, Pfizer
  • Derek Debe, Abbott Laboratories
  • Jonathan Usuka, Celgene
  • Joseph Cerro, The Schooner Group
  • Martin Gollery, Tahoe Informatics
  • Michael Rosenberg, Health Decisions
  • Noemi Greyzdorf, IDC
  • Phillips Kuhl, Cambridge Healthtech Institute
  • Sandy Aronson, Harvard Medical School
  • Saul Kravitz, CLC Bio
  • Stephen Fogelson, Develotron
  • Susan Ward, Consultant

We’re very proud of the quality of this year’s entries (see the full list here), and are looking forward to the 2011 competition.

— Allison Proffitt, Kevin Davies

2010 Best Practices Winners

2010 Entries that Received Honorable Mention: 

  • Amylin; Virtual Data Center
  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego (nominated by Convey Computer Corporation); InsPecT: Fast database search for post-transitional modified spectra
  • University of California San Francisco; Epilepsy Phenome Genome Project
  • HUNT Research Centre & Biobank (nominated by Thermo Fisher Scientific); Thermo Scientific Nautilus LIMS for Biobanks significantly increases throughput at Hunt Research Centre and Biobank
  • Merck & Co. (nominated by BioFortis); Biomarker Data Integration
  • Lahey Clinic (nominated by Orion Health); Medical Applications Portal Installation
  • Genstruct / Pfizer GRD; Causal Network Model of 2-Butoxyethanol-Induced Hemangiosarcoma in Mice and Its Relevance to Humans
  • AstraZeneca; AstraZeneca Patient Safety New Case Handling Operating Model
  • Merck Research Laboratories (nominated by MaxisIT); ADAPT Dashboard Prototype
  • Kendle; TrialEAS: web-based adjudication system

























This article also appeared in the July-August 2010 issue of Bio-IT World Magazine. Subscriptions are free for qualifying individuals. Apply today.

View Next Related Story
Click here to login and leave a comment.  


Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Page 1 of 1

For reprints and/or copyright permission, please contact Angela Parsons, 781.972.5467.