YouTube Facebook LinkedIn Google+ Twitter Xinginstagram rss  

2012 Franklin Award Accepting Nominations

By Bio-IT World Staff

February 17, 2012 | Nominations are being accepted for the 2012 Benjamin Franklin Award  for Open Access in the Life Sciences. The award is a humanitarian/bioethics award presented annually by an individual who has, in his or her practice, promoted free and open access to the materials and methods used in the life sciences. 

Nominations are being accepted until Tuesday, February 21. More information can be found at  

The first Franklin Award was given in 2002, and the winners make up a distinguished list of open source advocates and pioneers chosen by and its some 24,000 members. Past winners include Jonathan Eisen (Genome Center at UC Davis/2011), Alex Bateman (Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute/2010), Philip E. Bourne (Co-Director, Protein Data Bank, University of California San Diego/2009), Robert Gentleman (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/2008), Sean Eddy (HHMI Janelia Farm/2007), Michael Ashburnerz (Cambridge/2006), Ewan Birney (EBI/2005), Lincoln Stein (Cold Spring Harbor/2004), James Kent (UC Santa Cruz/2003) and Michael Eisen (UC Berkeley/2002).  

The 2012 winner will be announced at the Tenth Anniversary Bio-IT World Conference and Expo on April 25 in Boston. For more details, visit  

Click here to login and leave a comment.  


Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Page 1 of 1

For reprints and/or copyright permission, please contact Angela Parsons, 781.972.5467.